charlottepierce13

Just another WordPress.com site

The Never Ending Fight For Equality September 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — charlottepierce13 @ 1:14 pm

I’m usually pretty open to opinions but when it comes to gay marriage, I immediately block out negative talk.  I understand loyalty to the Republican party in presidential elections and just personal preference, but this is different.  Fortunately, I have lately been hearing several stories of unlikely people supporting same sex marriage. I love the quote from this article by the New York state senator, Roy J. McDonald, who is Republican.  “I’m in the party of Abraham Lincoln — I’m very proud of that.  I’m not in a party of a bunch of right-wing nitwits. It’s Abraham Lincoln. It’s everybody’s included. And I feel that’s very important.”

 

The only thing I don’t like about it is its title.  I think it is wrong to come at the issue from a marriage perspective.  I understand that that is the ultimate goal but that is shocking to so many people.  I think they should title it something more like equality, because gay and lesbian people just want to be treated equal/normal and they want to be accepted.

 

I think a lot of people believe that homosexuals do this to cause a stir up or for attention but it is not something they can control.  It is a feeling that they have from within and it is who they truly are.  I really hope Obama is reelected because I think he is the best president for gays and will do whatever it takes to get them what they want.

 

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/09/12/nyregion/after-vote-for-gay-marriage-senator-roy-mcdonald-faces-gop-primary-fight.html?_r=1&ref=todayspaper

 

Leave a Reply

